And the winner is….

it deserves love
it deserves love

My experience with bicarbonate of soda/vinegar has been so successful that I wondered if there are other areas that could benefit from old fashioned methods rather than expensive branded ones.

The washing powder market is huge, the variation enormous, liquid, powder, tablets, sachets that dissolve in the drum, together with washing machine maintenance and anti bacterials that have created fears that never existed a few years ago.

I am growing sceptic by the day, we are bombarded with so much information that seemingly offers solutions and opportunities, but in reality what they are after is our hard earned cash. This market is very competitive because it reaps huge rewards, there is a huge mark up.

So with that in mind I thought I would give laundry consumables some experimentation. I was advised by the website, DIY Natural, (great source of information!) …. to grate an ordinary bar of soap, mix it with some soda and use it as a washing soda.

While I am on the subject of washing soda, this is an excellent cleaner for your machine, you can purchase a big box for around a pound but Calgon, (which I strongly suspect is simply a branded variety) costs lots more than that.
The other beauty of washing soda, is that it reduces the amount of detergent required to wash your clothes, a double saving! Especially if you live in a chalky area as I do in Sussex. Imagine money to buy more crafting books!

Love Vinegar

Back to the experiment…

The soap powder did its job, although my towel was a bit stained it did not really come out in the wash so I deemed my usual powder worth the cost. I use powder because it is the cheapest way to buy it, and it only takes a few moments in a cup of water to dissolve it before putting it into the washing machine dispenser.

As for the conditioner… the replacement fabric conditioner was vinegar with a little essential oils. oh my, how soft everything was! My towel was very soft, disappointingly the essential oils had virtually disappeared, but I am converted. The vinegar not just softens clothes but also cuts the excess soap from the machine another double bonus! As that extends the life of your washing machine.

Now as to the problem of the build up of bacteria, how inventive these manufacturers are! They have been telling us to turn down the temperature on our washing machines, and I agree it is better for the environment if we use less energy, but it does mean that bacteria can actually thrive in the nice warm, wet environment. It means that your machine will begin to smell, and worse your clean clothes will too! even after washing!

So they come up with a solution to a problem that they created – add more expensive chemicals! NO!

Temperature is Key!
Temperature is Key!

It’s simply a case of following in the wise footsteps of generations of women before us, use high temperatures to kill bacteria. Bacteria thrive in temperatures from 5 – 65 degrees, if you are washing all your clothes at around 40 degrees, then you are creating a wonderful environment for them to thrive.

Isn’t a boil wash environmentally unfriendly? Not really, you don’t have to boil wash everything, but it’s a good idea to use high temperatures for babies, older people and especially when you have been ill. I usually boil wash my bedding once a week, including the mattress protector. That is enough to kill off the residing bacteria in my machine without resorting to harmful chemicals that remain in the clothing and is absorbed through the skin when I wear them. Using more chemicals to kill off bacteria is not environmentally friendly at all. Be aware that products sold for home use is not as restricted as commercial products and can be quite harmful.

Did I also mention that vinegar has natural antibacterial qualities? Also, a litre costs just over a pound, more money for fabric!

So lets have a drum roll for old fashioned wisdom and the humble vinegar.

It deserves a lot more love
It deserves a lot more love
One thought on “And the winner is….

  1. I hadn’t thought with the powder detergents that I could dissolve them first before adding them to the machine. I was adding them directly in and my husband said it was clogging out piping lines because it wasn’t dissolving completely and we already have plumbing problems with this old house that we rent! Anyways, great idea!

    Like

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post

