Today

rose bud colour pencils

Today…

I shall leave the dishes

unwashed

the bed

un made

I won’t straighten the cushions on the sofa

or launder the clothes

that lay on the floor

Today

I will delight

in half drunk

cold cups of coffee

squashed cushions

and scattered clothes

I shall lie

listless and lazy

in an unmade bed

with crumpled sheets

because

each

is

imbibed

with you

I can caress

the rim of the coffee cup

knowing

it has touched your lips

or trace

the cast of your face

on the pillow

or the imprint

of the cushion where you lay

each item

carries you back to me,

as if

by preserving these things

I can keep you

here

because today

I miss you

I am as empty

as the hollow cast

on the pillow

in my un-made bed.

9 thoughts on “Today

    • Hi Bekky, thanks for posting you interesting reaction! …. perhaps I should leave you guessing! It was written after our first holiday together – he went back to his home and it had been a blissful time. yes, thankfully he did come back – we have just celebrated two years together.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good to hear he did. I think it just felt so much inside the writer’s head and portrayed such intense emotion, I did so want him to come back. Congratulations on your two years together.

        Like

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post

