The blackberry jelly mystery, #Sunday Sevens #3

After the straining I had just over a pint and a half of fruit juice

Strained juice to make jelly

After consulting my preserving book, blackberries were not high in pectin, – so I opted to use 1lb of jam sugar (pectin added) for every pint of juice, plus lemon juice.

Making fruit jelly

the jelly did look a beautiful ruby colour.

Blackberry and Elderberry Jelly

In no time at all it was all in jars ready too cool. However, the jelly did not set! oh!

so what do you think might be the cause? do let me have your thoughts!

05-IMG_2392

So I moved on to my next project – I cut down a single  duvet to a small square and doubled it up.

Single duvets cost approximately £9 which is a very reasonable way to purchase soft filling.

06-IMG_2394 07-IMG_2395

I had this lovely dotty fleece and in no time my little project was ready for a test run.

dog bed

Barney was delighted with his new bed!

12-IMG_2402

Mr D spotted a recipe in the newspaper – so I decided to make it for him

13-IMG_2404

The mixture came together nicely

dough

After a little kneading, it looked pretty smooth. It was a great workout, much more sensual than a gym, the dough has such a lovely feel around my fingers, the transformation was tactile – I felt the difference in the dough.

Kneading is quite a meditation in itself, and while I was doing it, I felt a connection to all housewives down the centuries who would have done this as part of their daily practice.


15-IMG_2407

The warming plate is absolutely perfect to let the dough rest

17-IMG_2410

and grow!

It took a couple of hours – waiting is the hardest thing about yeast baking.

19-IMG_2412

then I mixed nuts, brown sugar, butter and cinnamon into a bowl

21-IMG_2414

Turned out the dough

22-IMG_2416

Rolled it into a flat rectangle

23-IMG_2417

speed the nutty cinnamon mixture over the top

Cinnabuns

rolled into a sausage

cinnabuns ready for second rise

and left to grow again

26-IMG_2424

And so, after a little effort and a lot of patience

28-IMG_2426

our Cinnabuns were ready to eat.

29-IMG_2428

yum!

  Susanna Signature

9 thoughts on “The blackberry jelly mystery, #Sunday Sevens #3

  1. I always thought blackberries were high in pectin and I used to make blackberry jam and it always set without added pectin. Just googled and the BBC website says it is too. My thought therefore is that maybe the added pectin and the natural pectin impacted on each other somehow??

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Shazza it took ages to wait for the buns to rise! Barney seems very happy with it but the corners are taking a bit of a bite or two! they are double stitched but I see repairs might be necessary.

    Like

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post

