Be the change you wish to see in the world

01-IMG_2489

Given the shocking events of last Friday, it is so difficult to find the right words – but I remembered this collage canvass I made some years ago and it sums up my feelings about this whole situation.

It was created at a time when I had lots of my girlfriends coming for tea and cake to my studio but they were terrified of doing anything arty, so we began to paint with glitter; it was such an easier fun way to be creative.

03-IMG_2491

While the top quotation says

You must be the change you wish to see in the world

I wanted to express the transformation that love can bring – so I used words that would also link together to create love.

04-IMG_2492

Butterflies symbolise transformation I wanted them to look as if they had just rested a moment on the canvass.

05-IMG_2493

While the swirls of blue and white create movement

06-IMG_2494

Some might call it childish, I found great pleasure in using the blue tones mixed in with a little purple.

07-IMG_2495

The butterflies were cut from a lovely birthday card I had received earlier in that year.

08-IMG_2499

Around the canvass you can also see tiny seed purls – another suggestion of transformation – an oyster changes an irritating grain of sand into a thing of beauty.

09-IMG_2500

I won’t focus on how much this world is full of hatred and misery

10-IMG_2501

but instead, Β in my own small way, spread love with a smile, a word of thanks or a listening ear. Not world changing but within my power.

02-IMG_2490

 

12 thoughts on “Be the change you wish to see in the world

    • Lovely to hear from you Timberlina – your kind words are so lovely to read. It is hard to photograph, because of the glitter it sparkles much more than the pictures but I am thrilled so many of you have liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sewchet – when these terrible things happen its the sense of ‘what can I do’ that bothers me the most. Once I realise that I can, in my small way, act positively – it somehow feels a little better.

      Liked by 2 people

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post

