Darling buds of May – Sunday Sevens 14 May 2017

Saturday Sewing

I am sewing again… maybe it is spring fever – but it is good to feel inspired to stitch again. The last 6 months has been difficult for many reasons: my sewing room being packed up into boxes was one of them.  I haven’t yet sorted space in the flat – but this pattern inspired me so much that I raked through the boxes to find what I needed. It is sad but I will re-organise and get my sewing room back together – it is a promise I have made to myself and I have taken some time off in order to do it this month.

Lemon, ginger and honey tea

On Saturday night I went to see The Catfish Kings in Hayling Island – and met up with the friendly bunch from Jive and Boogie group. It is such fun – we all dress up in 1950s style (including the guys!) and dance swing jive. I had a great time – after an absence of almost three years! There is nothing quite like a good dance to raise vibrations and feel great! However,  I was out of condition – so it was not surprise that I woke up on Sunday morning in need of a little physical restoration.

Lemon, ginger, tumeric and honey tea recipe

Herbal teas are quite pricey – Tea Pigs give the most flavour and they are convenient, but sometimes it really is worth making your own – the flavour is deeper and you know exactly what has gone into the infusion. My version of lemon and ginger is anti-viral and a great restorative.

Zest the lemons – it is where most of the flavour comes from it makes a big difference. Add the juice of a lemon, together with a spoonful of honey – (I buy local honey from a Sussex beekeeper) I find the sweetness is necessary to counteract the lemon and it gives a little bit of energy – but you can leave it out if you wish.

Peel an inch of fresh ginger root; either grate it (which is best) or chop it finely – and add it to the pot. Then sprinkle quarter of a teaspoon of turmeric, this not only gives the tea a beautiful yellow colour – but it is being hailed as a wonder herb for many things including antivirals.

Pour over boiling water and allow to seep – I pump the plunger of my beautiful tea pot (a mother’s day gift from my daughter) a few times to really circulate the ingredients. For a truly sensuous experience – drink from a bone china tea cup, or your favourite mug.

We decided to take a walk, despite the rain (a novelty here in the last month of sunshine!).  This is the view from the Parish Church in Walberton; a pretty little chapel. These lovely churches have some beautiful kneelers – they are works of art and small dedication in canvass. This tiny  church was full of beautiful examples. I am not sure how well attended the church was, but to me they are a sign that someone loves and appreciates their church.

Kneeler Binstead church

Work has been busy – I am also trying to de-clutter – one of the advantages of having everything in boxes is that it makes culling things easier. It is shocking to see just how much I have accumulated – and it is all the small things, drawers full of bits and bobs that frankly look as if they are handy – but they have been there for years! The great step forward this week has been creating the pantry with new shelving. It is sublime!

Forgotten Skills of Cooking

I have a passion for all things domestic -this is a delightful read – not just full of recipes and old fashioned baking/home steading skills that have been largely forgotten. It is the stories that make this book a treasure – alongside recipes for scones is the connection with eating them after school! If you have ever wanted to be more self sufficient then this book will guide you along – cheesemaking, cordials, chicken keeping, jam making, salting and smoking!

Bloom where you are

I have discovered a great level of comfort in the joys of home making and savouring good things – so this quote is apt for what I am manifesting right now. I can’t tell you how blessed I feel – not only to have such a delightful job, a lovely home but great friends and family.  of course that also includes the lovely Barney.

Barney staffie

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Darling buds of May – Sunday Sevens 14 May 2017

  1. You photographs are looking beautiful. Great to hear you’ve cut out some time to sort out your sewing room and that you’re sewing again. Also fab to hear about the decluttering – I’m a huge believer in new things coming in to fill the space we create from decluttering. Best of all, of course, is to see a pic of Barney 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s never occurred to me to make my own herbal tea – looks manageable too! I might check out that Darina Allen book, I have used her scone recipe with great results since a friend gave it to me. I met her once – about twenty years ago on a school tour! We were given homemade elderflower cordial to drink after a tour of the kitchen gardens at Ballymaloe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post

