Everything changes… Sunday Sevens 15th October 17

hello Autumn

Isn’t Autumn a wonderful time of year? Maybe its the connection with the start of the a new school year laid down in childhood, but it always feels more of a beginning than January does. It might be October, but the trees around me and in the local park are still green and just starting to turn – and there have been some glorious sunny days – where it seems a bonus to catch the gentler kinder sun.

work in progress

The big news I have is that I am crocheting a baby blanket for my new Granddaughter Effie – I am ashamed to admit that it began when my daughter told me she was pregnant – and now she is 7 weeks old already and I still have a border to finish. But I am enjoying the process and the darker longer evenings seem just perfect for the snuggling comforting repetition that crochet brings.

Its my second attempt, the first was with a beautiful soft wool in baby pink and cream but every time I began stitching I thought I was coming down with a cold as soon as I put it away my cold would go away! I realised that the wool was so fine and fluffy that I was reacting to the loose fibres. So I decided to start again with pretty pastel cottons, which is more practical because it can be easily washed!

I am so proud of my daughter, she is a great mum and Effie is thriving! They are a perfect little family the three of them and my son in law is a great hands on dad.

AUTUMN WAS AWAKENED

I love this quotation, the leaves lulling themselves to sleep, describes the season perfectly! One day on our usual dog walk, this lovely carpet of toadstools appeared virtually overnight! They were all gone the next day.

Autumn berries

Autumn is a lesson that tells us its alright to let go. Last year was one of the worst I have had in a long time, and it has taken until May to get back on my feet again. I have held on to things long after I should have done, and finally last month I have transformed my life. I cannot believe how wonderfully better my life is in every sense, it is so much richer and deeper. I look back and wonder why I held on to something that wasn’t right for so long.

IMG_2890

One aspect that hasn’t changed is Barney is still happily chasing bubbles and balls.

It takes courage to let things go, but when you do, you find the emptiness is always filled with something better and more wonderful than you dared hope.

8 thoughts on “Everything changes… Sunday Sevens 15th October 17

  1. Great to see you blogging again and to hear you’re in a much better place now. I’m sure I’ve said it before, but I’m a huge fan of space clearing in whatever form. Effie is a lovely name and the blanket is beautiful. What a shame you reacted to the first yarn. As always, great to see Barney – give him a hug from me xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Autumn can be wonderful. Today here we’ve had lovely warm sunshine and I went for a mini walk kicking up the fallen leaves like a child would! Love the blanket – and also love Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo you are crocheting with

    Liked by 1 person

    • thanks Tinaor kicking leaves is a wonderful way to enjoy simple pleasures! glad to hear you are making the most of Autumn. I agree Baby bamboo is delightful to work with and the blanket is 90% there!

      Like

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post

